Consumer Commission orders Niva Bupa to reimburse medical claim with compensation to a 76 years old senior citizen

Every health insurance policy holder fears the same thing: paying premiums for years, then finding the claim tangled in paperwork just when the hospital bill arrives. A recent order from a Delhi consumer commission shows what happens when a senior citizen was repeatedly harassed by an Insurance Company for providing medical documents. Here is what the case decided and why it matters.

The Background

Madhu Sawhney, a senior citizen then about 76 years old, bought two “Platinum” health policies from Niva Bupa in June 2023. The first, with a sum insured of Rs 10 lakh, ran from 10 June 2023 to 9 June 2024, at a premium of Rs 96,673. The second, dated 13 June 2023, had an increased sum insured of Rs 25 lakh, by paying additional premium of Rs. 54,499. In total, she paid total premium of Rs. 1,51,172 for a sum insured of Rs. 25 Lakh.

She disclosed her existing conditions: diabetes mellitus, lipid disorders, and hypertension with its complications. These were recorded in the policy documents. The insurer also carried out a pre-policy medical examination and emailed her the report on 11 June 2023. According to her, that report recorded no pre-existing heart or kidney disease.

The Hospitalisation and the “CKD” Entry

On 23 December 2023, after her family doctor advised her to consult another doctor for iron therapy, she was admitted to the Emergency Department of Max Super Speciality Hospital, Shalimar Bagh. During the initial assessment, the Emergency Resident Doctor wrote down “CKD” (Chronic Kidney Disease) in the record.

The complainant said this was a mistake. Because she was admitted under the Nephrology Department, the entry had been made inadvertently. The same doctor corrected it through an addendum dated 30 December 2023, during the same admission and before discharge. Her kidney function tests were normal throughout.

A cashless request was raised with the insurer. It asked for treatment records, consultation papers, investigation reports and past treatment details, including records relating to heart disease. The complainant supplied material through the TPA and, on 29 December 2023, sent a treating doctor’s certificate saying she had no history of CKD or Coronary Artery Disease. The insurer acknowledged receipt that day.

The cashless authorisation was still not granted, on the stated ground that the documents were insufficient or had not been submitted. She paid the hospital bill of ₹3,87,391 herself.

The Reimbursement Maze

She then filed a reimbursement claim on the insurer’s online portal, acknowledged on 4 January 2024. What followed, as the Commission’s order records it, was a long exchange:

•	On 6 January 2024, the insurer said it had reviewed the portal documents but needed more, and asked for hard copies of the originals. She sent them.
•	On 9 January 2024, it repeated the request for hard copies.
•	From 9 January to 15 February 2024, it kept saying the claim was under verification.
•	On 16 February 2024, it again asked for documents she said had already been supplied, including the original payment receipt.
•	On 28 February 2024, it confirmed receipt of the physical documents and said the case was under verification at the hospital level.
•	On 30 March 2024, it demanded an affidavit from the treating doctor stating there was no history of CKD.

The affidavit was the sticking point. The Emergency Doctor who made the entry had already corrected it, and would not give a separate affidavit. The treating doctor explained this and confirmed that the kidney function tests were normal. The complainant submitted a detailed clarification on hospital letterhead, along with a WhatsApp communication recording the same explanation.

On 25 April 2024, the insurer rejected the claim for non-submission of mandatory documents and non-compliance with repeated requirements.

The Insurer’s Procedural Misstep

Niva Bupa did not file a written version within the statutory period. On 29 May 2025, the Commission closed its right to file a written version and evidence. The insurer later filed written arguments, but the Commission considered them only for their submissions on questions of law, not to introduce disputed facts that should have come through pleadings and evidence.

This shaped the case. The complainant’s documents, including the policy papers, the pre-medical report, the hospital records with the addendum, the correspondence and the rejection email, stood largely unrebutted. The Commission noted that the insurer had produced no evidence showing what essential material was still missing.

What the Commission Found

The correction was contemporaneous. The Commission stressed that this was not a discrepancy discovered after a claim was raised. The medical record itself carried the correction, made before discharge, and the treating doctor’s clarification added to it. The insurer knew of all this yet kept asking for a further affidavit on the same point.

Insurers may ask for documents, but not endlessly. The Commission accepted that an insurer can seek reasonable and relevant documents to verify a claim. It held that this right cannot be used to make the insured repeatedly furnish documents already supplied, or documents she cannot reasonably obtain. Demanding an affidavit from an Emergency Doctor who had already corrected the record was not a reasonable basis for keeping the claim pending indefinitely.

The insurer’s own pre-policy assessment matters. The Commission relied on the Supreme Court’s decision in Manmohan Nanda v. United India Assurance Co. Ltd. (Civil Appeal No. 8386/2015). As the Commission read it, when an insurer conducts a medical assessment before issuing a policy, it must assess the risk on the information available to it. It cannot later rely on an alleged pre-existing condition in a way inconsistent with its own assessment. The complainant’s case that no CKD or CAD was recorded at the pre-policy stage was supported by documents and went unrebutted.

The insurer’s own conduct undercut the rejection. The insurer had told her on 28 February 2024 that the case was under verification at the hospital level, which showed the claim was being processed on the documents she had supplied. Rejecting it two months later for non-submission, without explaining why those documents were insufficient, was an unreasonable handling of the claim.

The Commission concluded that Niva Bupa had failed to process and decide the claim fairly, reasonably and diligently, which amounted to deficiency in service.

The Cashless Point

The Commission also noted that the insurer produced no cogent evidence of a valid contractual exclusion or other lawful ground for denying the claim. That is why it ordered reimbursement of the full amount proved by the hospital bill and payment records.

What About Product Liability?

The complainant had also invoked the product liability provisions (Sections 83 to 85) of the Consumer Protection Act, 2019. The Commission declined to decide this. Since the complaint could be fully resolved on deficiency in service, it considered examining product liability neither necessary nor appropriate. So the order does not say whether those provisions apply to insurance disputes.

The Relief Granted

The complaint was partly allowed. Niva Bupa must pay:

•	₹3,87,391 as reimbursement of the hospital expenditure.
•	Interest at 6% per annum on that amount from 25 April 2024, the date of rejection, until actual payment. The Commission described this as compensation for being deprived of the money, not a penalty.
•	₹50,000 for mental agony, harassment and inconvenience. The Commission took the complainant’s age into account but said compensation must stay reasonable and proportionate.
•	₹35,000 as litigation costs.

All amounts must be paid within 45 days of receiving the order. If the insurer misses that deadline, interest on the principal rises to 9% per annum from 25 April 2024.

Why This Order Matters

  1. Repeated requests can amount to deficiency in service. Claimants often get stuck in a loop of “kindly submit again” emails. This order treats that pattern as a legal problem when it prevents a claim from being decided.
  2. A rejection must be reasoned. Saying “documents not received” is not enough if the record shows substantial documents were received. The insurer must be able to say what specific material was essential and missing.
  3. Evidence and procedure are decisive. Because the insurer missed the deadline for its written version and evidence, it had no evidentiary answer to the complainant’s documents. Insurers and other opposite parties should note the cost of missing statutory timelines.
  4. Medical record errors can be corrected. Clinical records sometimes contain mistakes, and a documented, contemporaneous correction by the treating hospital carries real weight. That said, this was a district commission order on its own facts, and the insurer may have appeal options.

Practical Takeaways for Policyholders

•	Disclose everything at purchase, and keep the pre-policy medical report and policy documents.
•	Keep a paper trail. Email rather than phone where possible, and save screenshots of portal uploads and WhatsApp exchanges.
•	Respond to genuine requests promptly, but keep a running log of what you sent and when. If the same demand returns, point to the earlier submission in writing.
•	If hospital records contain an error, get it corrected on the record and obtain a clarification on letterhead, as the complainant did.
•	Push for a decision. Ask the insurer in writing to decide the claim on the material already provided. A rejection is challengeable, whereas endless “under verification” is hard to fight.
•	Know your forum. If your claim is wrongly delayed or rejected, a consumer commission is an accessible remedy.

Closing Thoughts

Insurance is a promise of security at the moment of greatest vulnerability. This order reminds insurers that verification is a means of deciding a claim, not a substitute for deciding it. The Commission’s message is measured: insurers may ask for what they reasonably need, but once a policyholder has given a fair and documented account, they must decide in a fair manner.

Advocate Paras Jain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *